troubelshooting rough running 3.0 v6 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Ford Escape | C-MAX | Mercury Mariner Forum This forum is for discussion of the Ford Escape, C-MAX, the Ford Escape Hybrid and the Mercury Mariner.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 07:52   #1 (permalink)

troubelshooting rough running 3.0 v6

As a automotive tech, I rarely work on mazda's but the customer was insistant in having me troubleshoot a run rough/low power issue after he changed the spark plugs. This is the same engine as the ford escape.

The customer changed the front three spark plugs. He removed the coil packs, replaced the plugs and reinstalled. The engine has the well known 1 cylinder thump miss characteristic of vacuum leak,bad spark misfire or just plain dead cylinder from no compression. I had noticed that he also did not tighten #4,5 spark plugs.

So I attempt to isolate the issue. I inspected the plugs electrodes, re tightened and engine showed the same issues. I installed the other unused set of plugs "in case he broke the ceramic" and reinstalled into plug numbers 5,6. I pulled all three coil packs and checked the primary and secondary resistance. Primary side of coils 4,5,6 were less then one ohm each. Secondary side was 19k ohms on all three coils so all are good.

I would pull the coil on #5 coil pack. 2002 Mazda Firing Orders