Ford VCM - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU > ECU Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Insurance Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 16:23   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Ford VCM

Has anyone had any success with the chinese knock off VCM's that you can get for around $350?

I have used the BMW versions and they are great just looking for feedback on the Ford tools.
bandit408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2015, 11:02   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Re: Ford VCM

Anyone?

I noticed the price of a VCM II with IDS software is down to $185 on ebay.
Just search ebay for VCM and IDS
Automate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 01:19   #3 (permalink)
Dave1987
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: California, U.S.A
Posts: 3
Re: Ford VCM

i've had mine for as long as loot got his first one so a while ago still going strong and works fine

i also paid around 125 Euro from a uk domain web for mine
Dave1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:00   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Re: Ford VCM

Found this on the Ford/Motorcraft site
Quote:
Regular Validation:
IDS must communicate with the License Server on a regular basis to validate the license. A validation automatically occurs at each start-up when IDS is connected to the internet. When IDS is not connected to the internet a validation cannot occur. Therefore, any PC with IDS needs to be connected to the internet at least every 29 days. Failure to validate every 30 days will cause the license to become invalid and disable functionality within IDS.
How do the Chinese knock-offs get around this? Do they set the computer clock back in time?
Automate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 16:47   #5 (permalink)
Moderators
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Demotte Indiana
Posts: 1,532
Re: Ford VCM

I think if you are running an earlier version it will work. Ours at work are all licensed separate through ford. I would be very suspicious of any of the knock offs.
r-clar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Interior | Electrical | ECU > ECU Forum




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:11.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.