2003 Ford Expedition Help - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Expedition Forum | Lincoln Navigator Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Expedition Forum | Lincoln Navigator Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 18:26   #1 (permalink)

2003 Ford Expedition Help

Hi everyone,

I am just going to say right off the bat that I am no mechanic nor am I very knowledgeable about engines.

Anyways, I own a 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4L V8. It has been having some problems lately. The main problem was while idling. When I would stop at a light or something and be waiting my car would begin to jump forward and what not than eventually turn off.

Well, I found out my alternator had gone bad so I got a new one and had it replaced. I had hoped that was going to be the fix but while it seems to have helped a lot the engine still doesn't seem to be running quite right.

The mechanic and I spoke about it for a while and he told me that more than likely it just needed a tune-up but that the engines in these Expeditions are extremely expensive to have tuned-up.

He told me that more than likely the engine coils should be replaced along with the spark plugs. I didn't have the money to have it done at the time so I am planning on having it done here soon.

Getting to my point, he quoted me $80.00 per engine coil and I just did a search online and saw that I could get a full set of eight of them for $90.00. That didn't include labor either for the price of the coil.