Ford Forums banner

2005 Navigator Low MPG +Burning Oil

9K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  Cheapshot 
#1 ·
I'm not a mechanic -

I have a 2005 Navigator with 91,000 miles...on a recent trip (tonight) I registered 13 MPG on highway driving...Used cruise control, drove 60 MPH, and had only 3 people in the car (very little gear). It was 7 degrees outside.

On summer road trips in the past (with 6 people and a ton of gear) I registered 18MPG on the highway...

Just had it serviced...oil change, fuel filter change, new air filter...tires rotated, and alligned...all are properly filled...

My service guy told me the oil was low almost 2 quarts since the last oil change...told me to check the oil when I gas it up...He also suggested changing the transmission fluid and the rear differential fluid.

Am I stuck with poor MPG based on the age of the vehicle, or is there something I can do to improve it? Other threads discuss Magna Flow exhaust, and dual electric fans...

Since the engine is burning oil, does this hurt MPG?

What about better gas, I routinely use 87 octane, or the "cheap gas"...should I bump up to the "good stuff" ?

What about the fuel injectors? Should I get them cleaned?

I'm willing to try anything, the vehicle runs great, and looks brand new. Since I have 4 kids, and a boat, there are few choices that handle our families needs...:1read:

See less See more
#2 ·
Re: Low MPG +Burning Oil

Depends on mileage since last oil change / check , whether that amount of oil used is a concern or not . Would have thought it was advisable at that mileage and when servicing car to replace spark plugs and also oil filter .

#3 ·
Re: Low MPG +Burning Oil

As far as I know everybody gets worse mileage in cold weather for a number of reasons. An engine running on 9 degree air is going to get much lower mileage than when running in 80 degrees. Plus the gasoline is a "winter blend" in many areas which has a lower energy content (I have read).