Changing Pads on a AU III - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes Sponsored by: Discount Tire Direct

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2003, 00:29   #1 (permalink)
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 55
Posts: 961
Changing Pads on a AU III

Was helping a friend today change pads on his AU III, ( I have changed a lot of pads over the years, did the drivers side no probs.
Got to the Passanger side, and mate, no mater what we have tried, the two bolts holding the Calipers to the strut assembly wont losen. Looked on the back of the bolt, there is no "L" on them, so I gather they are not left Hand thread, but boy are they done up tight. Any advise on how to losen them ( and just clarify that they are not left hand thread)
As I siad I have changed pads heaps of times, and never ever had this prob. The Drivers side bolts were tight, but a little gentle persuasion and the were loose.
Makes for a frustrating day
If any one has any advise, we would apreciate it
__________________
2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2003, 02:13   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Searching for a new home
Posts: 3,657
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Nothing in the workshop manual that might provide a clue I'm sorry to say.
Thread looks to be normal RH.

Cheers
Russ
russellw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 21:14   #3 (permalink)
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 55
Posts: 961
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

thanks anyway Russ, maybe i need to eat more weet bix
__________________
2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 22:04   #4 (permalink)
17" is for 4cyc
 
Bluedriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: in a paved palace !
Age: 34
Posts: 1,871
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Yep TS50 more weeties mate.

I did mine a couple of months back and they are the tightest I have ever experienced.
Upon having to struggle all the way to last bit of thread I noticed a good portion of dried up yellow liquid I suppose similar to Loctite.
Great for safety obviously and like you I have done plenty of pad changes etc.
__________________
'02 XR8 S111 220kw + a little more
Bluedriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 05:39   #5 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Use a big 15mm (I think) spanner and a mini sledge hammer - worked for me.
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 06:13   #6 (permalink)
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Searching for a new home
Posts: 3,657
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluedriver
Yep TS50 more weeties mate.

I did mine a couple of months back and they are the tightest I have ever experienced.
Upon having to struggle all the way to last bit of thread I noticed a good portion of dried up yellow liquid I suppose similar to Loctite.
Great for safety obviously and like you I have done plenty of pad changes etc.
To quote the workshop manual:

NOTE: Old bolts must not be re-used, as they are vital safety components that have a micro encapsulated adhesive on the bolt thread.

Cheers
Russ
russellw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 15:54   #7 (permalink)
Senior Events Moderator
 
AU1SIXA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Age: 33
Posts: 1,710
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

This tip comes in handy russ when i need to change my pads. I would have used the same bolt. Is it the same for the Series 1 Au's or not.

Steve B
__________________
BSR (LPG BIATCH, SPER-MIN-ATOR, PEPPER BIATCH)
TEAM GALAXY(Co-Founder)
FF EVENTS ORGANISER
AUPS
AU1SIXA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 19:56   #8 (permalink)
Bourbon powered V8
 
JC-XR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canberra, Australia.
Posts: 4,787
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

I used the same bolts, and just cleaned them up with a wire brush and then applied locktite to them. Every time I go to undo them is just as hard as the first time.

Don't believe everything you read in a manual - if I did then I would still be trying to work out "Never undoes widget device close head". This was in an old instruction manual I found - translation is "Never undo this bolt" LOL.
__________________
__________________________


AU1 XR8 Auto 147.9 rwkw (approx 215 fwkw)

AU2 Wagon HAD Auto
17s, Pacemakers, 3" Intake & Pod filter (The Family Hack)

Member of:
FPV-XR Club ACT
AUFalcon.com
ATPS (honorary)
JC-XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 21:50   #9 (permalink)
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 55
Posts: 961
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC
I used the same bolts, and just cleaned them up with a wire brush and then applied locktite to them. Every time I go to undo them is just as hard as the first time.
was talking to a couple of the senior service guys at my local dealership, they never change the bolts, just clean them and locktite them.

Thanks guys, I just needed to get a newer 15 mm socket, old one was too sloppy on bolt and i was too worried about wrecking the head.
__________________
2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 00:13   #10 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 8,204
Re: Changing Pads on a AU III

Loctite is the go, the Do Not Re-use, sounds like a money maker.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Au Changing Diff Gears AU1SIXA Trans | Driveline 1 06-09-2003 20:54
Changing pads on XF XF_boy General Tech 4 01-25-2003 17:22
Changing Brake Pads Futura97 Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 11 12-11-2002 17:06
Changing brake pads on EB xw_beast Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 6 10-27-2002 16:32
V8 Supercars Practice 1 & 2 JEM Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 04-26-2002 21:54

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:29.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.