Floor mounted handbrake - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes Sponsored by: Discount Tire Direct

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
The Guy You Love To Hate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VICTORIA: The Revenue State
Posts: 1,510
Floor mounted handbrake

Hi, ive just bought an EA with a few things that need touching up.

One of them is the handbrake cable which is frayed. SO im thinking, since im goin to be replacing teh handbrake cable, why not go to the trouble of adapting a handbrake lever out of another car so that its mounted next to the trans tunnel like theyre supposed to be instead of teh ridiculous position Ford put it in. The person who thought of putting it there should be fired for gods sake!

Any ideas on which car to grab it off and am i dreaming?
__________________


Welcome To Victoria, Home Of The Speed Camera

Just another Eseries...
T_Terror is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 05:30 AM
Phat Drift Damage Victim
 
XplodEd EA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brissy
Age: 32
Posts: 985
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

The position of the handbrake was a carry over from the X series.

People have converted the handbrake to the floor and have used EF/L fittings but have ended up cutting out a section of the floor and modifying it for the handbrake to fit properly. Doesnt seem that hard but I dunno about the technicalities for a roadworthy and whether or not your severly damaging the structural integrity of the car

Ed
Phat Drift Damaged Cobalt Blue 1994 EF XR8 5 spd
Fully optioned - Sunroof, cruise, body kit
Stock as a Rock for the moment

TQE's
XplodEd EA is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 05:58 AM
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 35
Posts: 4,882
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

you're only affecting the structural integrity of the donor car for the panel, as you dont cut the floor out of your car, you just weld the piece youve cut from the EF or EL onto the floor of the EA and i suppose drill a hole for the cable to go through.

would really only work if you were putting in an EF console, as there isnt enough room beside an EA-ED one, and to fit the console and make it look good you need the dash too, so its a lot of trouble to go through to get a nicer looking handbrake handle. i mean seriously, how often do ya use the handbrake, when you stop the car to get out i'd imagine
MADNC_8 is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 06:16 AM
Fu(kn Slow & Low
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: building cars for the enemy
Age: 31
Posts: 479
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

some times you use it while driving down a wet road approaching a corner at about 50-60km/h! thats what i want it for anyway........

let us know what you decide to do, i dont think it would be that hard and you could make it work and fit easily.

if you give it a go write up a tutorial if your doing it your self.

Ehab

White 1988 EA Fairmont Ghia ~ Gassed ~ EF camshaft ~ Lowered on super low king springs (not low enough) ~ 2.5inch cat back exhaust system with one muffler ~ Clear indicators ~ Simota POD filter ~ New head built for gas ~ 3.23 open wheeler diff ~ EF XR 16inch rims ~ pioneer deck and rear speakers ~ sony front speakers ~ kyb shocks

driving a 3 speed auto with no second gear!!!
Need PSI is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 06:57 AM
Packed up and gone.....
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 879
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

Quote:
Originally Posted by Need PSI
some times you use it while driving down a wet road approaching a corner at about 50-60km/h! thats what i want it for anyway........
Uh OH.....

Here we go again......

Ford Fiesta Zetec Mk6


You know who I am...
-Dan
XR6child is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 07:06 AM
No longer around
 
MADNC_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong
Age: 35
Posts: 4,882
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

hopefully thats not on any cruises, and on a closed private road

MADNC_8 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 08:45 AM
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 33
Posts: 3,287
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

Wayne, Ehab visits Pt Gawler heaps. Its a closed circut track used for drifting.

Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 11:37 AM
"Steve has a car?"
 
Rmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 33
Posts: 2,207
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

I'm currently converting to the floor mounted handbrake. But i'm also changing the centre console/dash/everything to EF spec, and unless you do this, you'll have trouble fitting the handbrake beside the EA centre console. To do mine, i cut the floor outta an EF, broke the tranny tunnel bracket and welded that to my floor, then drilled a hole in the floor and slid the cable through that. I'm currently in the process of fitting the required brackets underneath the car to attch tha cable, including using an EF diff...

Rmyers is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-04, 05:10 PM
E-Series Acting VP
 
Thanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,432
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

Mate, I'm sure it could be done without putting an EF/EL console in, and without changing the diff, etc.

But it would take a fair bit of ingenuity and a lot of patience...


Have fun!



Cheers,
Dave


Thanatos is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-01-04, 12:43 AM
Fu(kn Slow & Low
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: building cars for the enemy
Age: 31
Posts: 479
Re: Floor mounted handbrake

yeah its on prt gawler, off the streets and away from the heat,

hey walki do you think e-series club would be intrested if i actually hired out prt gawler for a drift pracitce day. bring friends, any cars and motorbikes (because of the fat jumps) also welcome to come and drift around. do you think this would be any good?

Ehab

White 1988 EA Fairmont Ghia ~ Gassed ~ EF camshaft ~ Lowered on super low king springs (not low enough) ~ 2.5inch cat back exhaust system with one muffler ~ Clear indicators ~ Simota POD filter ~ New head built for gas ~ 3.23 open wheeler diff ~ EF XR 16inch rims ~ pioneer deck and rear speakers ~ sony front speakers ~ kyb shocks

driving a 3 speed auto with no second gear!!!
Need PSI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floor-mounted handbrake conversion T_Terror Inline 6 Tech 9 08-31-04 10:21 AM
Handbrake LG Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 2 07-13-04 02:49 AM
EA/D handbrake rod71 Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 6 05-19-04 12:18 AM
Handbrake 02 Model Mondeo mondeo Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 1 04-09-04 05:43 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome