Groove in Disc - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes Sponsored by: Discount Tire Direct

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-13-04, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ACT
Posts: 23
Groove in Disc

On my EB1 I just changed the brake pads. I noticed on the RHS disc there is a deep groove near the centre. The disc probably cannot be machined because it is too deep.

Apart from this, the discs are fine and the new pads installed with no problems.

Do I really need to change the disc? Will it cause the pad to stick as it wears into the groove? If necessary I will put new ones on.
muzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-13-04, 03:13 AM
MY GHIA
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: brisbane
Age: 35
Posts: 113
Re: Groove in Disc

yuo should it is now a week spot on the disk and will only get worse as the pad wears into the grove

ed ghia - 5 speed - autolamp - power seats - alpine mp3 - lambswool - lowered gt gas/king springs -MY GHIA qld plates wheels to come
cthawes is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-14-04, 09:22 PM
Registered User
 
xbgs351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,067
Re: Groove in Disc

Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz
On my EB1 I just changed the brake pads. I noticed on the RHS disc there is a deep groove near the centre. The disc probably cannot be machined because it is too deep.

Apart from this, the discs are fine and the new pads installed with no problems.

Do I really need to change the disc? Will it cause the pad to stick as it wears into the groove? If necessary I will put new ones on.
Depending on how deep it is, I would probably ignore it. The groove will tend to disapear as the disk wears.
xbgs351 is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-15-04, 02:39 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ACT
Posts: 23
Re: Groove in Disc

Grateful for the replies. I had another look and it is quite big. The groove is about 2 mm deep and 3 mm across. The disc has been machined at least once I would say, so now I am concerned it will bust under a heavy load because it is thin there - is this possible?
Not too expensive to replace, but I'm not too confident in doing the wheel bearings up correctly.
muzz is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-15-04, 05:15 AM
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 62
Posts: 6,360
Re: Groove in Disc

It will be o/k so long as you don't go crazy!!Both sides of then rotors are held together well..If there is no vibration or steering wheel wobble..It's o/k...

Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-19-04, 06:44 PM
Wannabe mechanic :)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 694
Re: Groove in Disc

It'd be a pity if it let out on you during emergency braking, and causes a rear-end or something..

Also, it may not be road-worthy, and if you have an accident, insurance can deny a claim.. It might be worth it to change that disc, not sure if you can really replace one and not the other, though?

TQE, SWB, ATPS, Worst of the E-series.. and I wouldn't have it any other way
juarez is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-19-04, 06:52 PM
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 46
Posts: 2,580
Re: Groove in Disc

It will be fine, discs are very strong, a groove like that is nothing.

Rick.

4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-21-04, 04:59 AM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
Re: Groove in Disc

heh, the groove is probably increasing the braking area :s5

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-21-04, 04:33 PM
Registered User
 
xbgs351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,067
Re: Groove in Disc

Quote:
Originally Posted by juarez
It'd be a pity if it let out on you during emergency braking, and causes a rear-end or something..

Also, it may not be road-worthy, and if you have an accident, insurance can deny a claim.. It might be worth it to change that disc, not sure if you can really replace one and not the other, though?
You will have a far greater problem with one new disc and one old disc than you would ever have with a groove in one disc.
xbgs351 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9" disc lsd into 74 Cortina any chance? thek Trans | Driveline 6 06-05-04 09:37 PM
Need help Drum to Disc front brakes Francisco Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 0 05-23-04 02:36 PM
XP disc with new computer?? EDFUTURA The Pub 18 08-30-03 08:55 PM
disc brakes for a 9 in. gg64 Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 1 07-24-03 01:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome