the low down - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes Sponsored by: Discount Tire Direct

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2004, 04:56   #1 (permalink)

the low down

hey all,

the low down (no pun intended):

I want to lower my 98 EL Fairmont, but retain a respectable ride quality. If i was to simply put super-low king springs on it, how long would the stock shockers last?

What is the best way to go about the whole lowering process?
Cheers, i'm kinda new to the whole ford thing (having just taken delivery of my baby on monday )
pully'sEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2004, 03:30   #2 (permalink)
BlkEB2

Re: the low down

I'm about to lower my Eb Fairmont myself and have just purchased King Spring Lows as i did'nt want to go too low, but wanted improved handling, ride and looks. I asked my mechanic the same questions just today and his recommendations were to replace the shocks with the proper shorter units for the type of springs used as the originals are too long, and won't be working in the right areas when the suspension is under load.