P0717 and P0715 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Vans and Mini Vans | Ford Aerostar | Ford Freestar | Ford Galaxy | Ford Windstar Forum for discussion of all Ford Vans and Ford Mini Vans such as the Ford Aerostar and Ford Freestar.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-13, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 252
P0717 and P0715

Both of these codes have come up on our 2004 Freestar 3.8, 275,000 miles. The TQ recall has been done.

P0717 is "Turbine Speed Sensor no signal"
P0715 is "Turbine Speed Sensor circuit fault"

Do these Sensors fail regularly? If so is it on the upper, back side of the transmission, (say 2:00 as looking at the crank) attached to the bell housing area?

Or maybe there is a common chafing point on the wiring harness?

When looking at data, I have an ISS which I figured was the Input Speed Sensor, but I also have a TSS_SRC which sounds like "Turbine Speed Sensor_ Something Really Confusing. I'm not up on auto trans enough to know, but I thought the input speed is the same thing as the Turbine speed.

TDIDog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-13, 06:36 PM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,907
Re: P0717 and P0715

input: "drivers side front, remove the wheel, and you'll see a sensor with a retaining bolt in the transmission housing." Make no promises, I've never worked on one. Also, haven't had a lot of complaints about the sensor, I think a close examination of the condition of the wires and connections would be a wise decision.

Ever notice that there's so many high performance parts available for GM products?

Did you ever think that maybe they NEED them?
CatSkinner is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-13, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 252
Re: P0717 and P0715

Quote:
Originally Posted by CatSkinner View Post
input: "drivers side front, remove the wheel, and you'll see a sensor with a retaining bolt in the transmission housing." Make no promises, I've never worked on one. Also, haven't had a lot of complaints about the sensor, I think a close examination of the condition of the wires and connections would be a wise decision.
Yeah. A quick look at the wiring, then a price check on a new sensor is in order. If the price is cheap enough, it may be worth it to just throw one at it rather than spend hours digging into the wiring harness.
TDIDog is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-13, 09:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 252
Re: P0717 and P0715

Does $42 sound about right?

Quote:
VEHICLE SPEED SENSOR Freestar
Apparently the input speed sensor (AKA Turbine speed sensor) is the same as the vehicle speed sensor (AKA Output speed sensor).
TDIDog is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-07-13, 05:37 PM
Dazed and Confused
 
CatSkinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 5,907
Re: P0717 and P0715

Couldn't tell you, like I said, I've never changed one. Anybody else want to take a stab at this?

Ever notice that there's so many high performance parts available for GM products?

Did you ever think that maybe they NEED them?
CatSkinner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Vans and Mini Vans | Ford Aerostar | Ford Freestar | Ford Galaxy | Ford Windstar


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome