Odometer - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel Forum for discussion of the Ford F100, F150, F250, F350, Superduty and Diesel trucks.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-06, 05:21 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Odometer

2001 F150, odometer light comes and goes. Someone else said he had the same problem and that there a factory problem. Is anyone else having this problem, or had this problem that can shed some light. Thanks

batman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-06, 05:47 AM
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Age: 45
Posts: 1,486
Re: Odometer

If you are referring to the LCD odometer display, then you may have to replace the cluster or deal with it. I have seen this on some Ford F-150 models.

That is actually a module and has to be programmed from the Ford dealer when replaced.
Johnny Mullet is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-06, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Re: Odometer

Which module? When I first took it into the FORD DEALER in Deland Fl they said the a module by the transmission and a short, which they repaired and the light was gone. Drove down the road, light (service) came back on, went back and now the Timing sencor, was bad. I called and asked, did they have any mechanics or just parts changers? I can live with it, or better the wife can, its her truck. I just know, the service light is back on also, which can be anything, I think Auto Zone will test for nothing, and tell what the code is for. We have 68 F100, 92 F150, 2001 F150 and new one 2001 F350. I can't complain about Fords, had other also. But since these new computer driven models, it hard to get a handle any more. Thanks for your help.
batman1 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-06, 02:52 PM
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Age: 45
Posts: 1,486
Re: Odometer

The odemeter itself is a module. The programming will need removed from yours, and then placed into the new one with the computer at a dealership. Your odometer will also be correct when replaced.

Get the CEL codes and post them here for help on those.
Johnny Mullet is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-06, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Re: Odometer

thanks, will try this week or next.
batman1 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-18-06, 06:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Re: Odometer

Please look at this and maybe you dont need to spend the money other people say u may need to :) http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...ometer+blackout

cheers
pipercub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome