swappin 300 I6 for 302 - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel Forum for discussion of the Ford F100, F150, F250, F350, Superduty and Diesel trucks.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2004, 16:51   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Upper Peninsula MI
Posts: 9
cool swappin 300 I6 for 302

My friend is thinking about buying an f-150 with a straight six and a C6 for the engine and trans and i was thinking about swapping my 302 and AOD into the truck from my crown vic...are there any problems with this swap...and is what so i need to get set to get ready to do it....
semperfi48103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2004, 23:32   #2 (permalink)
 
89F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 1,012
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

You will need different motor mounts for the swap.

Depending on what he/she wants to do with the truck, it might be wise to stick with the I6 as i've heard its a pretty reliable engine. Both engines have their advantages.
89F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2004, 09:34   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Upper Peninsula MI
Posts: 9
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

he wants the engine and trans not the truck.... i dont want my crown vic so i want to put the vics guts in the truck....
semperfi48103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 14:32   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: southern california...
Age: 34
Posts: 5
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

its been said more than once before that the horsepower and torque figures between the I-6 300 ci , and the V-8 302 ci, are with 1-2 points of each other...i have done several motor swaps before and can tell you that nothing is as easy as it seems. Be sure you factor in the headache factor before proceeding. The slight ( if any gains in power ) may not be worth it... Something you may want to try first is swapping your ring and pinino gears on your I-6 drivetrain and see if that gives you the desired effect you are looking for....
__________________
undefined
undefined

wheelin wheelin wheelin....theres nothin like it...
92f-150guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 02:00   #5 (permalink)
 
89F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 1,012
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

In a way they are the same but the torque curves are what makes them different. The 300 gets it peak torque at lower revs than the 302 at around say 3000 rpm compared to around 3500. In daily driving the 300 would feel just as powerful as the 302 as most people would not rev there truck up past 3000 rpm. However on the race track the 302 will most of the time take care of the 300 due to shift points etc.
89F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 21:18   #6 (permalink)
97 F-150 XL 4x4
 
351w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA
Age: 42
Posts: 799
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

bwaahaha my 6 cylinder would beat your V-8, 89f-150 !

__________________
i would rather push my Ford than drive your Chevy !
351w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:33   #7 (permalink)
 
89F150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 1,012
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

Your truck might be a little bit more lighter than mine and a little bit newer.
89F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 05:58   #8 (permalink)
Fawkin Fordhead
 
82F100SWB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Age: 30
Posts: 31
Re: swappin 300 I6 for 302

The 300's peak torque is in the 1500-2000 rpm range, and all is said and done by 3600... Think diesel when you think of it, and you'll be thinking along the proper lines.
__________________
------------------
Evan MacDonald
00 F250 SC 4x4, PSD/6 speed
86 F250 4x4, 460/4 speed
81 F100 4x4, 351W/4 speed
82F100SWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford F-100 | Ford F-150 | Ford F-250 | Ford F-350 | Ford Super Duty | Ford Diesel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Injectors, I6 into V8... dodgie Inline 6 Tech 12 11-22-2003 05:17
V8 - I6 Tacho differences? KDog Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 10-06-2003 00:40
Forged pistons for I6 need help EATURBO Inline 6 Tech 4 08-13-2003 08:14
XR6 Heads vs Stock I6 Heads PEGASUS Inline 6 Tech 6 05-05-2002 17:11
SCing or TCing an I6 tickford2001 Inline 6 Tech 11 03-13-2002 22:46

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.