Ford Forums banner

Trash/Water in fuel line???

16K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  FloridaGator01 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here, but I thought somone might be able to help me. I drive a 2002 F150 4.6L/V8 Supercrew. I was going to be traveling to a town 30 minutes south of me where the gas is always cheaper so I purposely let the fuel get very, very, very low so that I could fill up down there. Before I could reach the town the fuel light came on (I ignored it) and then after awhile it started missing a lot..... I realized that I may have sucked up some junk or water out of my nearly empty tank into my fuel line. I filled up when I reached the town but it did not help at all, I then purchased a fuel system cleaner that also said it would remove water, I just finished that tank of gas and it did help some but not enough.
I now want to change my fuel filter. I do not have my owners manual so I went to a website and downloaded it but it did not show me where the filter is located. How can I change something if I do not know where it is :) Is there a website that would give me step by step directions on how to do this?
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Karen

#2 ·
You can check here: Download PDF PDFTown.com | Free Download PDF and eBook and search for F150. You'll be able to get the complete service manual there. If you find the file and are prompted for a password to open it and view the files use 'pdftown.com'