IAC trouble - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri Forum for discussion of the Ford Laser, Ford TX3, Ford Escort, Ford Sierra and Mercury Capri.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2003, 17:37   #1 (permalink)
SuperDave421
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
IAC trouble

Alright

I ran the OBD II code reader on my car and it came up with this 1506--IAC overspeed error. Now, I replaced the IAC itself, and still, get the error. I didnt replace the gasket being that I couldnt get it in stock. Anywho, any suggestions on what this error means and how I might go about fixing it.

I can describe what is happening when I drive. When I turn the car on, the idle is the normal idle sounds, but it takes a long time to get down to lower rpm, such as it kind of draws out. THe same is when i put the car in neturl. It idles high then very slowly tapers down to a lower idle. Now, when I put the A/C on, the car acutal picks up speed when I dont hit the gas pedal, this is what really freaks me out. I can feel the car trying to move foward when I have the brake on only when the A/C is on.

Sorry, I forgot to mention that it is a '99 Escort.

Thanks in advance
-Dave
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2003, 20:42   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 131
Im not sure, but I can look it up. What does IAC stand for? Also, not replacing the gasket could be your problem. You have to replace gaskets when you pull something off of one. A leak could cause this kind of problem.
KingKurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 21:59   #3 (permalink)
driftintoacurb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You try resetting the ECU? Possibly, the computer needs to remap if you changed a part.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2003, 13:54   #4 (permalink)
SuperDave421
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
First off, thank you for your help.

Ok, IAC stands for Idle air control (IAC) valuve.

Next, yes I did reset the computer, and each time i ran the code sacnner on it again it came up with 1506.

Thanks again.

-Dave
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help...Transmission or Electrical Trouble? Softtspknn Trans | Driveline 4 10-16-2003 14:37
Pulling trouble codes? question. Hawaiian Punch Mercury Cougar Forum 4 10-12-2003 00:08
Uh Oh, Fuel Gauge Trouble! FPVFRD Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 04-04-2003 16:56
Trouble starting car on hot days MKII240T General Tech 6 02-24-2003 06:12
Trouble starting (only sometimes) XRated General Tech 11 02-10-2003 19:48

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:15.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.