Re routing the airconditioner pump - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri Forum for discussion of the Ford Laser, Ford TX3, Ford Escort, Ford Sierra and Mercury Capri.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2009, 19:00   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
confused Re routing the airconditioner pump

So I have never used the air conditioner in my 1998 zx2 Escort and the air conditioner compressor had a bearing blow on the serpentine wheel. It squeaks Like mad intermittently, was wondering if anyone knows weather its feesable to remove the compressor and going with a smaller serpentine belt to illiminate the compressor thus getting rid of the squealing noise??
Doesn't make much sense to repair the compressor as I never use it-not a fan of air-conditioning

Thanks I Advance
Shylow2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2009, 19:54   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Sterling_Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 1,135
Re: Re routing the airconditioner pump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shylow2009 View Post
So I have never used the air conditioner in my 1998 zx2 Escort and the air conditioner compressor had a bearing blow on the serpentine wheel. It squeaks Like mad intermittently, was wondering if anyone knows weather its feesable to remove the compressor and going with a smaller serpentine belt to illiminate the compressor thus getting rid of the squealing noise??
Doesn't make much sense to repair the compressor as I never use it-not a fan of air-conditioning

Thanks I Advance


Gooooo!!! For it
__________________
Good Luck and good repairing Sterling_6
"You know, just like in that Book, When Jesus beats up Moses to get Religion!!"
Sterling_Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:05   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 162
Re: Re routing the airconditioner pump

Lots of people remove their a/c compressors for different reasons. You can probably use the same belt that a ZX-2 not equiped with a/c uses.
FordMan59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 20:17   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thumbs up Re: Re routing the airconditioner pump

Quote:
Originally Posted by FordMan59 View Post
Lots of people remove their a/c compressors for different reasons. You can probably use the same belt that a ZX-2 not equiped with a/c uses.
Thanks Guys for the input But I just wanna clarify that If I order a serpintine belt for zx2 with out air (didn't know they had a zx2 without air) then I can bypass the air conditioner.
Other option that I found out today is I have an air conditioner compressor off
a 1998 Ford contour upon examination of the air conditioner compressor they seem to be the same....How hard would it be to pull the pulley off the contour compressor and swap it with the escort pulley?? I assume they will fit...I tried the clutch plate and it seems to fit the same way. Is this this wise? or would it be easier to remove the air compressor and use a smaller Belt?
Shylow2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 18:29   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 162
Re: Re routing the airconditioner pump

If the clutch for the compressors are the same there would be nothing wrong with using the one off of the Contour, but without doing a part number cross reference I don't know if they are the same or not. I'm not certain whether they made a ZX-2 without a/c or not, but if they did that should be the belt you need, if not they will have to determine the length of belt you need for your application.
FordMan59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:36.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.