460 I need help - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > 429-460 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 01:25   #1 (permalink)

460 I need help

I am just learning about building motors, and got a 460 BBF 74 or 76 that is bored .040 everything else is stock , except for a 1407 Edelbrock. The motor was in the rain & water got in the cylinders, so I took it apart and broke glaze on the walls as well as some minor rust. I replaced the rod bearings and head gaskets, but the rings looked almost new so I just put everything back together as this motor looks like it was rebuilt not to long ago. I did not remove the timing chain, but did pull the dist. (Ist question), where do the timing marks on the cam gear and crank line up? I put the top gear mark at 6:OO and the crank at 12:00 using the "0" instead of this delta symbol on the crank gear. Did I do right?? (2nd question) can anyone tell me what size the engine is now, being bored .040 I believe everything is stock, crank is std. also on the compression gauge #1 reads 30, (turning the engine by hand) but nothing on any of the other holes. Turning this monster by hand is murder, but why don't any other holes read something on the gauge? Does it need to be cranked to read on the gauge?
Thank You all so Much
DrDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-22-2011, 20:36   #2 (permalink)
429/460 Fanatic

cool Re: 460 I need help