460 into XA falcon??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > 429-460 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2007, 23:54   #1 (permalink)

460 into XA falcon???

hey guys,
looking to put a 460BB into the XA, im new to BB's so as far as i know and from what people tell me they bolt straight in. is this true? i.e any mods??
I have also been told off half my mates to keep the worked 351C because its better for the street but the other half say do something different and put the BB in because the 460 has about three quarters of the power of the 351 i have stock. So what are the pros and cons of the 460 compared to the 351C?
also what do most guys do to the 460s to get good power? around 450hp want to start researching.
cheers.
Glenn.
inounv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-30-2007, 18:05   #2 (permalink)
429/460 Fanatic

cool Re: 460 into XA falcon???

Glenn,

I haven't any idea whether the 460 can bolt directly into an XA Falcon without any modifications; hopefully another forum member from down under can offer some insight.

450HP from a 460 can be made without hardly trying. I think that the factory 460 makes an excellent street engine once slightly modified. Great low end torque, and plenty of upper end power if you build for it. A D3VE-headed 460 can have 450 HP with little more than flat top pistons, head porting, a mild cam, oem valve train and proper tuning.