computer change - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-08-03, 03:55 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 29
computer change

gents

I have been fortunate enough to get a five speed conversion with 120 klms on it. I have also been supplied the computer for it.
The box is an ed for eb11.
Does anyone know if it is necessary to change the computer coming from the auto?

Cheers
Shane

Shane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-08-03, 04:10 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 33
Posts: 3,104
Mate, good job on making the change!
It will not need a new gearbox computer.
However, my understanding is that the serII and on combine the gearbox computer with the engine computer.
Have a look, if there is a box comp. under the instrument cluster then you can use your old comp. If not, you will need a manual comp., which you have anyway.

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-08-03, 04:24 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 29
sorry,
I mean i was supplied a ed manual computer to take the place of the one in your passenger kick panel. Atleast it looks like that one
Shane is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-08-03, 05:15 AM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
Depending on if your car is smartlock. If it is then itll work, If not then It wont. The ed will be a smartlock computer.

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-03, 01:25 AM
Experienced Ford Member
 
fordboy1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawthorn East
Age: 35
Posts: 829
I donno about the EA-EDs because they have a seperate computer for their autos.....but the EF-on use the same computer for the engine and 'box....so i know you have to change the computer in an EF-on but I'm not sure about the EA-ED....just change it anyway :)

Dave.

SMOKE 'EM IF YOU GOT 'EM!!!!
-------------------------------
"The car is the closest thing man can create to.....something that is alive" (Founder of Jaguar Cars Pty Ltd, Sir William Lyons)
-------------------------------
"Can't sleep, Clown'll eat me, can't sleep, clown'll eat me"
"I am the angel of death, the time of purification is at hand"
-------------------------------
fordboy1996 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-03, 01:31 AM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
Quote:
Originally posted by fordboy1996
I donno about the EA-EDs because they have a seperate computer for their autos.....but the EF-on use the same computer for the engine and 'box....so i know you have to change the computer in an EF-on but I'm not sure about the EA-ED....just change it anyway :)

Dave.
EA -> EBseries 1 have a seperate auto ecu. EB series 2 onwards its combined with the engine ecu

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-03, 05:33 PM
300+rwkw DC LTD Member
 
LTDHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 1,622
I was told by the guy who programmed my chip that I can keep my comp when/if I put in a manual...

Mine it series II pre-smartlock (The good one IMO)

LTDHO
Power by me 360rwkw
Check out E Series Owners Club on Facebook
LTDHO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer change? pup Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 03-25-03 12:56 AM
Problems and story of Head Gasket change (beware, very long post) old_mate Inline 6 Tech 10 09-12-02 04:07 AM
Problem with EL Trip computer russell Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 08-16-02 03:14 AM
CALL TO ARMS: FORD DRIVERS AND OWNERS CALL OUT FOR NASCAR RULES CHANGE AT DAYTONA LunaticSVT Ford Worldwide News 3 02-10-02 03:41 PM
computer jokes HSE2 The Pub 1 01-25-02 12:15 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome