ea ecu question - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-03, 12:08 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: caboolture
Age: 34
Posts: 53
ea ecu question

i have a 3.9l auto ea s pak.
Would i need to get a s pak mpfi ecu or any 3.9l mpfi ecu??
i ask this cause the s pak has tacho ect
gtq is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-03, 12:37 AM
sylox's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nth NSW
Age: 34
Posts: 1,540
Re: ea ecu question

You need to get one that is pre smartlock mate ea- ed if you call Chiptorque and ask one of the guys nicely they might give you the exact ecu codes to look for that will work.
sylox is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-03, 02:14 AM
feed me hey
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 65
Posts: 4,692
Re: ea ecu question

What are you trying to do? Convert to MPI?

If so any MPI 3.9 ecu will work. so basically anything ea - eb1 with MPI

Dot Aye You
NZ is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-03, 10:08 PM
Look! A flying orangutan!
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 32
Posts: 3,104
Re: ea ecu question

Any auto computer which is pre-Smartlock. Manuals will not adjust the idle for when the car's in D, so it tends to stall
The tacho is part of the wiring and has nothing to do with the computer - the feed for it is taken off the back of the coil and runs round the front of the bulkhead to the dash.

Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-10-03, 08:37 AM
Registered User
TaraHymen's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 354
Re: ea ecu question

there are tacho pickups everywhere. on an ea from memory, there is one by the booster, one on top of the throttle body, one in the passenger footwell and one above the starter motor.

even i wanted to wire in an aftermarket tacho, tap into the pink wire with blue trace

TD Cortina ED XR6 Engine, T5, 9inch, Boyd billets, 4 wheel disc etc
AU XR6 - All the usual goodies not worth bragging about

See them both here <=-- Page Updated 15 October 2006
TaraHymen is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA Spack, 3.9 question . . . Gruntly Inline 6 Tech 9 01-14-04 03:40 AM
QUESTION ... Reguarding V8ing a EA Wagon Esky_Dan General Tech 11 01-02-03 12:23 AM
NA LPG Question, EA dash question Troutman LPG Tech 3 07-23-02 08:17 AM
EA question Falchoon The Pub 8 02-05-02 11:25 PM
A Question Brought Up by EA S - "The Wise Old Man" Aussie Pete The Pub 39 12-05-01 06:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome