EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2005, 02:31   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Question EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query

hiya,

I'm looking to replace the stock EA fairmont radio with an Alpine deck. Said Alpine requires two supplies - a battery feed and an ignition-switched feed. The ignition switched feed is fine, I've found that on the harness. The trouble is the only always-on feed on the stock harness goes via the 10A fuse marked "CRT LP", which I'm surmising is the dashboard lamp circuit. Definitely not useful for this.

Is there an easily-accessible 15A ish feed I can draw from? Or will I have to run a new wire out to the battery?

Note: the alpine deck in question has a 15A inline fuse for the battery feed hookup which is why I'm guessing it needs up to 15A.

Thanks!
erikarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2005, 06:05   #2 (permalink)
i was there now i'm here
 
pepsimax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: here
Age: 46
Posts: 55
Re: EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query

if it already has a inline then you don't need a second one,,around the area there is a hole heap of constant feed wires,,just use a scotch lock to tap into one..
__________________
no one dies a virgin as the world screws us all
pepsimax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 10:30   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Re: EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsimax
if it already has a inline then you don't need a second one,,around the area there is a hole heap of constant feed wires,,just use a scotch lock to tap into one..
I don't have a service manual anymore w/ wiring diagrams, so I don't know which wire(s) can be tapped. I'm open to suggestions though!
erikarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 16:14   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Re: EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query

I believe "CRT LP" is the centre lamp. When I installed my stereo the first thing I did was cut through the existing wires to start from scratch. Unfortunately in doing so I blew that particular fuse because the person before me wired their stereo to it. It is tied in to the Smart Lock and I found my car didn't want to go until I replaced the fuse.
The fuse box has a fuse for the radio and cigarette lighter. I suggest you find where the wires from that go to.
CraigS288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 03:20   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Re: EA Fairmont Radio/electrics query

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigS288
I believe "CRT LP" is the centre lamp. When I installed my stereo the first thing I did was cut through the existing wires to start from scratch. Unfortunately in doing so I blew that particular fuse because the person before me wired their stereo to it. It is tied in to the Smart Lock and I found my car didn't want to go until I replaced the fuse.
The fuse box has a fuse for the radio and cigarette lighter. I suggest you find where the wires from that go to.
I'm pretty sure that one is interrupted by the ignition. I need a feed that isn't interrupted by the ignition.
erikarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.