the ea's speedo is out - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2003, 04:24   #1 (permalink)
EA Falcon owner
 
FordLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brisbane, qld
Age: 29
Posts: 1,242
frown the ea's speedo is out

hi,

Does anyone know a quick way to adjust the speedo??

i went on a drive to surfers today (with two other cars)

anyway. my speedo was indicating that i was doing 110Kmh (in a 110 zone.)

and the other two cars slowed down so i could keep up and we pulled over and both of the other drivers said i was only doing 90kmh. now i dont think i was going that slow but i was definatly doing a bit less.

also has anyone else had similar problems with their ea.
__________________
EF GLi Wagon, auto, Kenwood mp3 headunit, Mauritious BLUE

DAG-Nabit.com
FordLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2003, 21:20   #2 (permalink)
Wannabe mechanic :)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 694
Re: the ea's speedo is out

Are you running stock sized tyres? Stock diff? Stock transmission? If not, I think you'd just have to get alternative speedo gears
__________________
TQE, SWB, ATPS, Worst of the E-series.. and I wouldn't have it any other way
juarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 21:28   #3 (permalink)
EA Falcon owner
 
FordLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brisbane, qld
Age: 29
Posts: 1,242
Re: the ea's speedo is out

stock everything
__________________
EF GLi Wagon, auto, Kenwood mp3 headunit, Mauritious BLUE

DAG-Nabit.com
FordLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 18:38   #4 (permalink)
93EbIIfalcon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 20
Re: the ea's speedo is out

My old EA's speedo would show 110km when I would be travelling at 103km. I kinda liked it because when I thought I was speeding I wasn't!
camilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 18:46   #5 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: the ea's speedo is out

How stock are the other cars you are comparing to, are they wrong and you are right maybe ??

Dellboy999
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 19:30   #6 (permalink)
Still Dazed and Confused
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 473
Re: the ea's speedo is out

If it's an auto, replace the speedo gear. Rule of thumb - I tooth=5km/hr.

If you have a 22 tooth gear, doing 90, speedo says 110, You're 20km/hr out- Buy an 18 tooth gear.

How do I know. Missus got done doing 120km/hr 100 zone. Last bloke put an XR6 Gearbox in and didn't change the Gear. It's OK if you've got a 3.45 diff. Not a 3.23 one. I put in a 17 to make sure.
__________________
Learn from other people's mistakes. You won't live long enough to make them all.

If there's commotion coming from the passenger seat, and nothing but earth going round and round outside the windows,.......then everything is not as it seems!

The only time you have too much fuel, is when you're on fire!
rossi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 19:41   #7 (permalink)
EA Falcon owner
 
FordLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brisbane, qld
Age: 29
Posts: 1,242
Re: the ea's speedo is out

my car is stock (6 cyl auto) except for gas.

the other cars are (i am assuming) stock

except the N13 pulsar (my sisters car) has a sports exhaust.

i'll have a talk to dad see if he can get answers from the previous 2 owners (both workmates of his) as to any mods they have done.

but as far as i know it is stock.
__________________
EF GLi Wagon, auto, Kenwood mp3 headunit, Mauritious BLUE

DAG-Nabit.com
FordLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo Sender/Diff/Wheel Calculations Xyphoid Trans | Driveline 7 07-29-2004 03:53
Flakey speedo in EA xr6t General Tech 8 01-15-2004 23:14
Fit Cruise to XF; Speedo Sender Swampy General Tech 2 12-30-2002 21:17
Speedo problems XDSedan General Tech 11 08-16-2002 07:01
Speedo Reading Futura97 General Tech 14 04-19-2002 20:47

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.