ECU and New Cam - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2003, 00:07   #1 (permalink)
Professional P Plater
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 227
ECU and New Cam

Hi all, I have just had a new cam installed. Its a stage 2 crow cam, and as such doesn't require a chip. I was wondering tho, will my ECU need to relearn some settings? If so how should i go about this? i.e resetting ECU? The only guide for running in the cam was to run it over 1500rpm for about 10mins. Also will i need new lash adjusters?(i think thats what they said) The mechanic that did it said that they tend to 'bed' into a cam and as such should be replaced when a new one is put in, anyone got any clues about this? Thanks for any help.


Hoops
__________________
White ED falcon, 2.5" redline zorst, pacemakers, 1 muffler, hi-flow cat, XH snorkel and K&N filter, 17" wheels, clear side and front indicators, king springs (low).
crodarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2003, 00:38   #2 (permalink)
Professional P Plater
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 227
Maybe it mite o' been the lifters he was talking about.

Hoops
__________________
White ED falcon, 2.5" redline zorst, pacemakers, 1 muffler, hi-flow cat, XH snorkel and K&N filter, 17" wheels, clear side and front indicators, king springs (low).
crodarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 00:47   #3 (permalink)
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 31
Posts: 3,039
no I6 falcons have roller cam followers and they dont need to be bedded into a cam.

if the adjusters arent stuffed at the moment then they should still be good after you get the cam, but some people report that thier lifters tick badly after getting a new cam.

i dont know why this happens.

just disconnect the computer for about 15 mins and then take it for a strap!!! thats all you gotta do.
__________________
Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 03:09   #4 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 60
Posts: 6,360
So the mech put the cam in and didn't check preload on adjusters??? So he fitted and hoped!
Do's he do the same at stop signs ???
You have to check EVERYTHING when installing anything in an engine!! Ford sell shims in two sizes but you can only fit one in each..Each lifter should be checked seperately..
A billet cam shouldn't need shimming but again check,a reground cam defanatly would need shimming..
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 03:09   #5 (permalink)
Professional P Plater
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 227
cool thx Rollin. Will disconnect the ecu as my alarm makes it a pain to disconnect the bat. Strapping will commence tomorrow!
__________________
White ED falcon, 2.5" redline zorst, pacemakers, 1 muffler, hi-flow cat, XH snorkel and K&N filter, 17" wheels, clear side and front indicators, king springs (low).
crodarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 05:57   #6 (permalink)
I Love Forced Induction.
 
BLWNEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 569
Well it all depends on how big the cam is the lobes, sometimes you have to put in shims into the rocker arms and bleed the lifters, see how you go but just disconnect the battery and drive the car the ecu should learn the new cam.
__________________
IF YOU DONT TRY IT YOU WONT KNOW.
BLWNEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 21:03   #7 (permalink)
Professional P Plater
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 227
ok disconnected the ecu for about 15mins, then put it back together and took it for a spin. The bloody thing runs worse now then b4 i disconnected the ecu. It stalls whenever i come to lights or travel at very low speeds i.e 10/15km/h. Is this normal str8 after disconnecting the ecu?
__________________
White ED falcon, 2.5" redline zorst, pacemakers, 1 muffler, hi-flow cat, XH snorkel and K&N filter, 17" wheels, clear side and front indicators, king springs (low).
crodarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 21:39   #8 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 60
Posts: 6,360
Yes it can be.It will learn hopefully over the next few kmrs..
But the ecu won't fix any mechanical fo- pars...You will loose low end torque!!! More compression will help ...
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 21:58   #9 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 122
Crodarian,

where'd you get the cam from, i'm in brissie and revheads quoted me $245 for a crow stage 2 part 22825. I am going to get one for my xh ute and put it in myself(any help appreciated). Did yours make much or a performance increase or can't you tell yet with the stalling etc????
dinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 23:01   #10 (permalink)
Professional P Plater
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 227
Those bastards quoted me $380. I ended up getting it from autobarn. So far it runs like a pig, but its only just gone in so i wll give it about a week b4 i stress hard. Besides i rang chiptorque and they reckon for $495 they can get 'significant gains'. So if it still runs bad i am going to the coast. It feels like it goes a fair bit harder now, and i can't say i'm disappointed, only with the idle. Always the way tho, never any commys around to drag when u get some more power! lol. i got mine put in, but if its just the cam then it can't be too hard. Rollin offered to help me, but i only got the msg the morning of fitment, so if u get stuck, he should be able to help you out. The stalling only happens like i said, once going she really goes.
__________________
White ED falcon, 2.5" redline zorst, pacemakers, 1 muffler, hi-flow cat, XH snorkel and K&N filter, 17" wheels, clear side and front indicators, king springs (low).
crodarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:39.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.