EL AUTO???? into a EA - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-16-06, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
EaRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: burnout land hahhahah
Posts: 80
EL AUTO???? into a EA

I have recently bought a EL 4spd auto, im just wondering will be a big job to install it.like what do i need to do, how much would it cost to get it fully installed etc.


88 EA fairmontGhia gunmetal black
EL engine,K'N pod FILTER,Pacemaker extractors,ELxr6 exhaust,hiflow cat,Diff 3.45.1 I went to Easternats I thought i had died and gone to heaven
EaRyder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-06, 04:30 AM
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 48
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

what transmission do you already have?

i you have a 3 speed it's worth it but very expensive.

if you have a 4 speed just swap them over,they're the same transmission.

1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-06, 07:03 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

To add to athols comments,
if you have a 4 speed already, and fit the EL unit, ensure you also change the computer as the mapping is different.

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-19-06, 02:04 AM
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 48
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

the ea has it's own transmission control unit,there fore it's just plug and play basicly.
the ecu in an ea does not control the transmission

1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-19-06, 06:01 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

Terminology clash.
EA on has an ECU (Engine Control Unit)
3 speed Auto...no computer
4 speed on ...computer (lets call it a TCU...Transmission control unit)

What i was alluding to, is that the TCU in an early 4 speed is different to a Later transmission, and you need to swap to a matched pair....still a plug an play though.

EA, If your EA has the 4 speed auto, you will find the TCU next to the park brake mechanism.

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-20-06, 06:18 PM
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 48
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

well the later models have the tcu built into the ecu where as ea are seperate,,just plugging the ecu into an ea won't do sqat,,the tcu will control it no worries.

1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-21-06, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
EaRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: burnout land hahhahah
Posts: 80
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

my EA has a three speed auto????? how much are we talking here to get in the 4 speed auto.

88 EA fairmontGhia gunmetal black
EL engine,K'N pod FILTER,Pacemaker extractors,ELxr6 exhaust,hiflow cat,Diff 3.45.1 I went to Easternats I thought i had died and gone to heaven
EaRyder is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-06, 01:01 AM
Registered User
 
RAVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,561
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

**** the auto idea cos there shit!!! Just get a manual put in.

240rwkw slug.
RAVEN is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-06, 05:14 AM
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 43
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

EA,
if ya really want to get into the 4 speed auto, then you are up for some major work.....pretty much a rewire to accomodate the electronics for the 4 speed auto.

You can cheat and do a swap from an EB....you just need to ensure the EB matches yours in fuel delivery... Centrepoint or Multi point

Its a big job, not for the feinthearted...as suggest above...go manual!

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-23-06, 02:34 AM
Registered User
 
naughtyfalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

in this case i would go the manual conversion.

proud owner of a eabl
naughtyfalcon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome