EL AUTO???? into a EA - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2006, 22:23   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EaRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: burnout land hahhahah
Posts: 80
EL AUTO???? into a EA

I have recently bought a EL 4spd auto, im just wondering will be a big job to install it.like what do i need to do, how much would it cost to get it fully installed etc.
__________________
88 EA fairmontGhia gunmetal black
EL engine,K'N pod FILTER,Pacemaker extractors,ELxr6 exhaust,hiflow cat,Diff 3.45.1 I went to Easternats I thought i had died and gone to heaven
EaRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2006, 04:30   #2 (permalink)
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 46
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

what transmission do you already have?

i you have a 3 speed it's worth it but very expensive.

if you have a 4 speed just swap them over,they're the same transmission.
__________________
1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 07:03   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

To add to athols comments,
if you have a 4 speed already, and fit the EL unit, ensure you also change the computer as the mapping is different.

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 02:04   #4 (permalink)
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 46
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

the ea has it's own transmission control unit,there fore it's just plug and play basicly.
the ecu in an ea does not control the transmission
__________________
1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 06:01   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

Terminology clash.
EA on has an ECU (Engine Control Unit)
3 speed Auto...no computer
4 speed on ...computer (lets call it a TCU...Transmission control unit)

What i was alluding to, is that the TCU in an early 4 speed is different to a Later transmission, and you need to swap to a matched pair....still a plug an play though.

EA, If your EA has the 4 speed auto, you will find the TCU next to the park brake mechanism.

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 18:18   #6 (permalink)
ford is king
 
athol35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NSW
Age: 46
Posts: 169
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

well the later models have the tcu built into the ecu where as ea are seperate,,just plugging the ecu into an ea won't do sqat,,the tcu will control it no worries.
__________________
1990 EA GHIA NOW WITH A 4 LITRE
athol35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 22:37   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EaRyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: burnout land hahhahah
Posts: 80
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

my EA has a three speed auto????? how much are we talking here to get in the 4 speed auto.
__________________
88 EA fairmontGhia gunmetal black
EL engine,K'N pod FILTER,Pacemaker extractors,ELxr6 exhaust,hiflow cat,Diff 3.45.1 I went to Easternats I thought i had died and gone to heaven
EaRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:01   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
RAVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,562
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

**** the auto idea cos there shit!!! Just get a manual put in.
__________________
240rwkw slug.
RAVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 05:14   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jas24zzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wandin, Vic
Age: 41
Posts: 827
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

EA,
if ya really want to get into the 4 speed auto, then you are up for some major work.....pretty much a rewire to accomodate the electronics for the 4 speed auto.

You can cheat and do a swap from an EB....you just need to ensure the EB matches yours in fuel delivery... Centrepoint or Multi point

Its a big job, not for the feinthearted...as suggest above...go manual!

Cheers
Jas
jas24zzk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 02:34   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
naughtyfalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Re: EL AUTO???? into a EA

in this case i would go the manual conversion.
__________________
proud owner of a eabl
naughtyfalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.