Motec ECU vs. Haltech. - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2003, 00:21   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Just looking at purchasing a motec ECU, in particular a M800, but am weighing up with the Haltech E11. The price for the haltech is $2500, and the motec M800 is $1800, but i was sure is i needed a start code or anything with it.

And the haltech seems to be a lot easier to use, would the results differ much, and how much if extra codes etc. are needed for motec would i be looking at.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2003, 01:15   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

I'm pretty sure the price you have for the Motec doesn't include the loom which you will obviously need.
not ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 02:09   #3 (permalink)
Experienced Ford Member
 
fordboy1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawthorn East
Age: 33
Posts: 829
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Motec is number 1.

Dave.
__________________
SMOKE 'EM IF YOU GOT 'EM!!!!
-------------------------------
"The car is the closest thing man can create to.....something that is alive" (Founder of Jaguar Cars Pty Ltd, Sir William Lyons)
-------------------------------
"Can't sleep, Clown'll eat me, can't sleep, clown'll eat me"
"I am the angel of death, the time of purification is at hand"
-------------------------------
fordboy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 06:23   #4 (permalink)
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 61
Posts: 6,360
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

The Motec will cost you more than that !!!Fitted...
__________________
Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 14:58   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Being an Electronics Engineer i am sure that i can cope with fitting the motec myself, and i am not talking about dyno prices, which should be approx the same.

The loom i can make myself anyway. It was more the codes that i was talking about.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 16:29   #6 (permalink)
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Agree

The motec system I have for the T series is a little over 10K in total, but that takes into account a Motec screen :)
laminge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 19:55   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

But I believe the "basic price" doesn't include a plug or any sensors. The motec requires a GM style map sensor I believe which is ~$150 for a 2bar one.

Last edited by not ford; 11-02-2003 at 20:08.
not ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 23:41   #8 (permalink)
Now With 9 inch LSD Diff
 
all4ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Campbelltown
Age: 27
Posts: 575
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Quote:
Originally Posted by laminge
Agree

The motec system I have for the T series is a little over 10K in total, but that takes into account a Motec screen :)
Sorry to be off topic but Laminge is that the M800 motec and also how much did the ADL alone cost you if you dont mind me asking.
all4ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 02:02   #9 (permalink)
Oversized Ben
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 367
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

does that mean that the haltech comes with the lot?
__________________
Check out my FAIRMONT Here
biggaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 23:54   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 118
Re: Motec ECU vs. Haltech.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EA Turbo Clone
Just looking at purchasing a motec ECU, in particular a M800, but am weighing up with the Haltech E11. The price for the haltech is $2500, and the motec M800 is $1800, but i was sure is i needed a start code or anything with it.

And the haltech seems to be a lot easier to use, would the results differ much, and how much if extra codes etc. are needed for motec would i be looking at.
The M800 (with the enable code) costs $3527.70. You can buy the M800 for somewhere around $1800, but until you pay for the software enable code, all you have is a pretty little gold box.

I believe that Haltech comes with a wiring loom, all basic sensors, etc.
The Motec comes with a user's manual and a couple of stickers !!!

So, the Motec is obviously more expensive, but I found it to be worth every cent.

Laminge - have you fitted an ADL to your Falcon I'm jealous !!!
__________________
Cobra YS-Vortech, 74/28 cog, 24"x12"x4.5" intercooler, SVO N-351 block, SVO A-410 crank, Crower 6.25" billet rods, JE 8.5:1 pistons, 96lb/hr's, 90mm Accufab, MoTeC M800 sequential, MSD Digital 6, Powerglide, 35 spline 9", 17x11" Racing Harts.

XY Fairmont 460, Powerglide, 31 spline 9"

AU111 XLS 5.0 V8 Ute - 18x9" wheels 255/35/18 Falkens

Q777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MoTeC wins tender to supply V8 Supercar control ECU Donut King General Tech 3 11-14-2002 08:11
Hack proof Motec for V8s HSE2 Ford Racing Across the Globe 0 01-23-2002 16:55
Can the Haltech E6K read the VAF output voltage? Dan [Sac] Ford Probe Forum | Mazda MX6 Forum 10 01-15-2002 21:05
MoTec Computers Stinky Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 09-03-2001 20:12
Motec Blown BA General Tech 4 08-03-2001 02:25

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:55.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.