Please Help! 3spd To 4spd E Series - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-01-05, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Please Help! 3spd To 4spd E Series

Hi, I Have Just Ripped Out The Busted 3 Spd Auto In My Ea Cpi. And Have A 4spd At Home From A Wreck That I Aquired (now Gone!)with The Matching Ecu. I Plan To Put The 4 Spd In But Want The Swap To Go Smoothly So Im Doing My Homework Before I Commence Can Anyone Tell Me What Mods Are Required?

Do I Need A Particular Crossmember?
Whats Required In The Wiring Of This Box?
Will The Cooler Lines Reach The New Box?(i Noticed Theyre Routed Slightly Different!

If Anyone Has Done This Conversion Before Please Reply I Need Help!

CORTYA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-08-05, 02:51 PM
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 3,838
Re: Please Help! 3spd To 4spd E Series

Hey there I have done this conversion :)

You will need 4 speed auto cooler lines they are of different size to the 3 speed, I would also suggest a trans cooler be fitted.

You can integrate the wiring to your existing harness, or get an EA 30th anniversary complete wiring loom and install that, integration was pretty easy, I had to re-wire the plug from the gearbox to the existing loom in order to get the pins correct, send me an email dellboy999@hotmail.com if you would like an excel spreadsheet with some wiring detail.

Cross memeber you need to make up a couple of small extender brackets to get the 4 speed to bolt up as the mount points are just all wrong.

The exhaust bracket at the gearbox will also not line up, you will need to goto an exhaust shop when finished for a re-alignment.

Otherwise the tail shaft etc all fits no problems, and the gearbox does bolt up to the engine without drama.

I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-13-05, 03:00 AM
Registered User
 
badxr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: adelaide
Posts: 73
Re: Please Help! 3spd To 4spd E Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by CORTYA
Hi, I Have Just Ripped Out The Busted 3 Spd Auto In My Ea Cpi. And Have A 4spd At Home From A Wreck That I Aquired (now Gone!)with The Matching Ecu. I Plan To Put The 4 Spd In But Want The Swap To Go Smoothly So Im Doing My Homework Before I Commence Can Anyone Tell Me What Mods Are Required?

Do I Need A Particular Crossmember?
Whats Required In The Wiring Of This Box?
Will The Cooler Lines Reach The New Box?(i Noticed Theyre Routed Slightly Different!

If Anyone Has Done This Conversion Before Please Reply I Need Help!
good luck the wiring is the biggest headack not all ea have the same wiring in them they are different in some way through 88,89,90 and the gear box mounts are to but you will be able to get one to bolt straight in. the last time i did it it was a 88 model and i had to change the whole wiring harnes engine bay computer and dash loom

nizpro stage 11 with,moded turbo,h beam rods aries pistons,big injectors.walbro pump,6speed
426rwkws ford edit 12.3@121mph
badxr6 is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-21-05, 02:25 PM
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 3,838
Re: Please Help! 3spd To 4spd E Series

Quote:
Originally Posted by badxr6
good luck the wiring is the biggest headack not all ea have the same wiring in them they are different in some way through 88,89,90 and the gear box mounts are to but you will be able to get one to bolt straight in. the last time i did it it was a 88 model and i had to change the whole wiring harnes engine bay computer and dash loom
badxr6, i think you did it the hard way, it is a matter of stripping out the 4 speed auto plugs and and wires from a wiring harness, then part of that goes to the engine bay (via the brake booster), the other wires can be direct connected to the ECU, piece of cake, why change looms and all that way too much work, the wiring is easy if you can read schematics.

You only have to change everything if you use an integrated ecu/trans controller, I suggest a sperate trans ecu, much simpler job. with a seperate trans ECU you can then also fit a BA shifter , PM or email if you are interested anyone

I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > E-Series Falcons
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troutmobile series II in the making Troutman Australian Falcons 45 11-04-04 01:58 PM
Running a summer series. darren351 Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 08-14-04 01:29 AM
Hi/Lo series XF's gordon451 Australian Falcons 4 08-08-04 08:29 PM
Mazda Hosts World’s Largest Performance Driving School RPO83 Mazda Forum 1 04-22-03 12:46 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome