93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is thenew zero??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > USENET NewsGroups > rec.autos.makers.ford.mustang
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2005, 14:01   #1 (permalink)
remove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is thenew zero???

All,
93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new
zero???Any ideas. thx
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2005, 15:01   #2 (permalink)
Backyard Mechanic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new zero???

remove <"nigel(remove)mann"@bellsouth.net> wrote in news:gTiZe.5208$eB3.572
@bignews3.bellsouth.net:

> All,
> 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new
> zero???Any ideas. thx
>


Go to junkyard, get complete cluster, take out your cluster, replace tach
part, only.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 15:01   #3 (permalink)
Backyard Mechanic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new zero???

remove <"nigel(remove)mann"@bellsouth.net> wrote in news:gTiZe.5208$eB3.572
@bignews3.bellsouth.net:

> All,
> 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new
> zero???Any ideas. thx


Uh... you didnt SAY if the engine SOUNDED like it was idling fast, so i
assume it doesnt.

If it DOES idle fast...then you likely have either a failed sensor or a
vacuum leak.


That said, IIRC, the tach-flip syndrome USUALLY goes to about 3500.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 21:01   #4 (permalink)
remove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm isthe new zero???

Backyard Mechanic wrote:
> remove <"nigel(remove)mann"@bellsouth.net> wrote in news:gTiZe.5208$eB3.572
> @bignews3.bellsouth.net:
>
>
>>All,
>>93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new
>>zero???Any ideas. thx
>>

>
>
> Go to junkyard, get complete cluster, take out your cluster, replace tach
> part, only.

I took the cluster out today and made sure that all the plugin connector
strips were clean and shiny . After I put it back together again it
worked fine for 1/2 hour and then jumped back to 2000. The car is idling
@500 as per usual. Can I change only the tach part of the cluster?.
Looks like it's all one unit. Since I'm driving around with the cluster
torn apart, I can see the switch housing and wires for the headlamp
switch. Do these wires normally run warm/ very warm when the lights are
on. Anyway thanks for your help. Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 22:01   #5 (permalink)
Backyard Mechanic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the new zero???

If it's like I recall, the tach head can be removed from the plastic
substrate and housing.

Mine had a bad elect component in it... yours may have a bad connection
inside head... all tach components should be in the head. The
housing/substrate has only wiring traces.


remove <"nigel(remove)mann"@bellsouth.net> wrote in
news:wuoZe.1321$%H2.843@bignews4.bellsouth.net:

> Backyard Mechanic wrote:
>> remove <"nigel(remove)mann"@bellsouth.net> wrote in
>> news:gTiZe.5208$eB3.572 @bignews3.bellsouth.net:
>>
>>
>>>All,
>>>93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm is the
>>>new zero???Any ideas. thx
>>>

>>
>>
>> Go to junkyard, get complete cluster, take out your cluster, replace
>> tach part, only.

> I took the cluster out today and made sure that all the plugin
> connector strips were clean and shiny . After I put it back together
> again it worked fine for 1/2 hour and then jumped back to 2000. The
> car is idling @500 as per usual. Can I change only the tach part of
> the cluster?. Looks like it's all one unit. Since I'm driving around
> with the cluster torn apart, I can see the switch housing and wires
> for the headlamp switch. Do these wires normally run warm/ very warm
> when the lights are on. Anyway thanks for your help. Cheers


  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 11:05   #6 (permalink)
WindsorFox[SS]
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 93 Mustang tach shows 2000 rpm at idle. seems like 2000 rpm isthe new zero???

remove wrote:

> I took the cluster out today and made sure that all the plugin connector
> strips were clean and shiny . After I put it back together again it
> worked fine for 1/2 hour and then jumped back to 2000. The car is idling
> @500 as per usual. Can I change only the tach part of the cluster?.
> Looks like it's all one unit. Since I'm driving around with the cluster
> torn apart, I can see the switch housing and wires for the headlamp
> switch. Do these wires normally run warm/ very warm when the lights are
> on. Anyway thanks for your help. Cheers



This is the reason you see so many Mustangs with Autometer tachs
added on.

--

"Gullible is a misdemeanor - stupid is a felony...
clueless gets you committed..." - JG
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > USENET NewsGroups > rec.autos.makers.ford.mustang



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:04.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.