replacing a GEM module - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-13-05, 07:01 PM
boxcar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
replacing a GEM module

Trying to get myself an education.
When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to "Program" or
Re-program that unit. Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
doing anything.?




 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-13-05, 09:01 PM
johanb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module


"boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
> Trying to get myself an education.
> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to "Program"

or
> Re-program that unit.


yes

> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
> doing anything.?


nope



 
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-05, 04:01 AM
Hank
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module

There are numbers on the GEM.... use the same ones.
Hank



On Tue, 13 Dec 2005 21:32:55 -0700, "johanb"


<ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote:

>
>"boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
>news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
>> Trying to get myself an education.
>> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to "Program"

>or
>> Re-program that unit.

>
>yes
>
>> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
>> doing anything.?

>
>nope
>
>


 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-05, 05:01 AM
boxcar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module

I heard that the Programing consists of tire size and axle ratio, so the
computer reads my speed correctly.
Is that true.?
Is that all the programing does.?


"johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
news:AeNnf.74$Ph.2639@news.uswest.net...
>
> "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
> news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
>> Trying to get myself an education.
>> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to "Program"

> or
>> Re-program that unit.

>
> yes
>
>> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
>> doing anything.?

>
> nope
>
>
>



 
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-05, 07:01 PM
johanb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module


"boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
news:pcUnf.3849$rq3.858@newssvr19.news.prodigy.com...
> I heard that the Programing consists of tire size and axle ratio, so the
> computer reads my speed correctly.
> Is that true.?


yes


> Is that all the programing does.?


no

Its looks if you have or at power windows and locks, pats,door ajar, cruise,
washers/wipers and a bunch of other things.
It also communicates with the other modules like abs,hec and pcm



>
>
> "johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
> news:AeNnf.74$Ph.2639@news.uswest.net...
> >
> > "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
> > news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
> >> Trying to get myself an education.
> >> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to

"Program"
> > or
> >> Re-program that unit.

> >
> > yes
> >
> >> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
> >> doing anything.?

> >
> > nope
> >
> >
> >

>
>



 
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-05, 08:01 PM
boxcar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module

Sounds like replacing a GEM without doing all that progaming could darn near
disable the truck. The average auto tech doesn't have that kind of
programimg experience. So I guess that a GEM replacement job must go to a
Ford dealership. Have to assume they program it correctly in order to have
all those features you mention to be operational.


"johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
news:je4of.34$4q.3788@news.uswest.net...
>
> "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
> news:pcUnf.3849$rq3.858@newssvr19.news.prodigy.com...
>> I heard that the Programing consists of tire size and axle ratio, so the
>> computer reads my speed correctly.
>> Is that true.?

>
> yes
>
>
>> Is that all the programing does.?

>
> no
>
> Its looks if you have or at power windows and locks, pats,door ajar,
> cruise,
> washers/wipers and a bunch of other things.
> It also communicates with the other modules like abs,hec and pcm
>
>
>
>>
>>
>> "johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
>> news:AeNnf.74$Ph.2639@news.uswest.net...
>> >
>> > "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
>> > news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
>> >> Trying to get myself an education.
>> >> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to

> "Program"
>> > or
>> >> Re-program that unit.
>> >
>> > yes
>> >
>> >> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
>> >> doing anything.?
>> >
>> > nope
>> >
>> >
>> >

>>
>>

>
>



 
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-05, 08:01 PM
johanb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: replacing a GEM module

It's not that simple anymore.....

Several different networks on 1 car, modules communicating with each other ,
etc.


You have to pull old info out old GEM with scanner, install new GEM and
upload all info back to new GEM.

Don't know if there is a way around it

People want more and more toys on there cars, it's all possible but at a
price when it breaks down.



"boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
news:qg5of.3271$Zb2.343@newssvr23.news.prodigy.net...
> Sounds like replacing a GEM without doing all that progaming could darn

near
> disable the truck. The average auto tech doesn't have that kind of
> programimg experience. So I guess that a GEM replacement job must go to a
> Ford dealership. Have to assume they program it correctly in order to have
> all those features you mention to be operational.
>
>
> "johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
> news:je4of.34$4q.3788@news.uswest.net...
> >
> > "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
> > news:pcUnf.3849$rq3.858@newssvr19.news.prodigy.com...
> >> I heard that the Programing consists of tire size and axle ratio, so

the
> >> computer reads my speed correctly.
> >> Is that true.?

> >
> > yes
> >
> >
> >> Is that all the programing does.?

> >
> > no
> >
> > Its looks if you have or at power windows and locks, pats,door ajar,
> > cruise,
> > washers/wipers and a bunch of other things.
> > It also communicates with the other modules like abs,hec and pcm
> >
> >
> >
> >>
> >>
> >> "johanb" <ollieb1oREMOVE@THIScs.com> wrote in message
> >> news:AeNnf.74$Ph.2639@news.uswest.net...
> >> >
> >> > "boxcar" <pop-popNOSPAM@snet.net> wrote in message
> >> > news:8xLnf.3847$nA2.782@newssvr22.news.prodigy.net...
> >> >> Trying to get myself an education.
> >> >> When replacing the GEM module in a Ford 4x4, is it necessary to

> > "Program"
> >> > or
> >> >> Re-program that unit.
> >> >
> >> > yes
> >> >
> >> >> Or can a direct swap out be left at just that, without
> >> >> doing anything.?
> >> >
> >> > nope
> >> >
> >> >
> >> >
> >>
> >>

> >
> >

>
>
>



 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Fordforums Community > USENET NewsGroups > alt.trucks.ford
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome