96 Contour problems - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Contour | Ford Mondeo | Mercury Mystique | Ford Telstar
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Ford Contour | Ford Mondeo | Mercury Mystique | Ford Telstar Forum for discussion of the Ford Contour, Ford Mondeo, Mercury Mystique and Ford Telstar

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2009, 13:59   #1 (permalink)

96 Contour problems

I am not a mechanic, but I've been learning steadily due to owning a Ford Contour. I've exhausted a lot of personal resources lately trying to figure out a new problem with my Contour. A little about the car,

1996 Ford contour 4 cyl. GL
New Battery, alternator, front disk brakes, fuel filter, spark plugs, tensioner. All installed roughly in the last 6 months by me.

After replacing the Tensioner I drove the car for about 4 weeks and it died on the highway going about 70 mph. I then narrowed it down to a bad battery and alternator, so I replaced both of those 3 months later. I drove the car back and forth from work once before it died on me again right next to a police station. That was a riot towing it by a chain and trying to avoid being pulled over. Today I replaced the fuel filter and spark plugs. Still not starting.

Everything is working as far as I can tell it just wont start. When I pulled the old plugs they had oil and gasoline all over them. I don't know what that signifies except maybe a faulty gasket. When I pulled the old fuel filter off it released a whole lot of black sludge.