Ford Forums banner

2007 Fusion Key Question

6K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  Bert 
#1 ·
I recently bought a 2007 Fusion 4 cyl that had low km's, and is in near showroom shape, but the lot I bought it from only gave me one key, and have been no help in trying to get me a second one.

I called the local Ford dealership, who told me that a spare key would run me $199, plus $45 to program it. :HAHA: ??? I'm sorry, but I work in IT, and unless these keys are gold plated, I can't see how they can justify that price. Ridiculous.

So, my question is this, is there ANY way of getting a cheap spare made?

Aaryn

#4 ·
Had that problem a couple of years back when we replaced a family members car and was quoted £130 / $207 for an extra key fob ( only one remote fob supplied ) Wasn't worth it and just got a new key cut, with chip inside and recoded it in two mins as per instructions in owners handbook .

P.s
Think it cost £25 all in , but may be wrong , certainly wasn't dear .

#6 ·
We just bought a used 2009 Fusion. It came with two programmed transponder keys. I just ordered two blank keys on the Internet. These are keys specifically for Ford with a chip in them. Since I already have two working keys is it just a matter of having the new ones cut since I can program them myself? Can they be cut at a Pep Boys or similar business? Pep Boys was able to make a copy from one I have to just open the door - it won't start the car of course since it has no chip. The dealer and locksmith prices I'm seeing are outrageous!

#9 ·
Must just be proof of ownership they are asking for security reasons .Something similar operates in England when asking for a set of plates to be made .The UK Government introduced on 1 August 2008 regulations requiring the production of personal identification and vehicle registration documents when buying replacement plates from a retailer.

#10 ·