Help needed with slight smoking issue after recent fe390 rebuild - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By R.S.LOGAN

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-17, 07:30 AM Thread Starter

Help needed with slight smoking issue after recent fe390 rebuild

Hello friends. Glad to find this forum. I am new to FE engines and have recently rebuilt a 1968 Ford Fairlane 500 Fastback that has a FE390 engine. The previous owner had raced this car so he installed a high performance race cam, solid lifters and heavy duty valve springs. There is also a high volume oil pump that results in me having about 60-65 psi oil pressure gauge readings when the car is going down the road at 3500 rpms. I have had the engine bored .060 over and installed an Edelbrock Performer intake and Carburetor set up. The car runs great and is quite fast considering the modest 650 cfm carb. I have only put about 500-700 miles on the engine so far. The problem I am having is that When I start the car up and have it on high idle therer is some smoke coming out of the exhaust on the drivers side only. It seems as though I can drive it some, stop and look at the exhaust and there is no smoke coming out. It's kind of an off and on thing. Also My drivers side valve cover has a coating of oil on top of it after I take the car for a drive. The oil is being forced out of the breather on the valve cover. I did a compression test and a leak down test a hundred miles or so ago and everything looks good with the exception of #6 cylinder does have slightly less compression, (140 compared to 155 on average from the other cylinders), and about 30 compared to 20-25 on the leak down. I'm thinking that the engine just needs to be driven more but I'm getting quite a bit of oil build up in my drivers side valve cover area. I think it's referred to as blow by. I am getting ready to sell this car and feel uneasy selling it to someone with this issue