Ford Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I want to start by saying I am NOT a mechanic, this is hobby for me and my sons to work on. I just recently bought a 1970's Mustang Coupe. The car is a rolling chassis. All the steel and body work were already done. Dipped and painted. However, there is no engine, electrical, cooling system, fuel system, or any part of the interior. The car came with a good amount of parts however, I am not 100% sure they will all go together. I figure to start with the engine and drive train.

1 - I have a bare block with the the identification of D2AE-CA and below that TD2. From what I have been able to research this is a 1972 Engine. I have the 4V heads (also need to be sent to the machine shop) I was told by the gentleman that I bought it from that this is a 351 Cleveland. It is a 4 bold main. I also have a C4 transmission, Which is suppose to be ready to install. and what I think is a 9 inch rear end. They did some modification to the front end (see pictures).

What would you guys recommend for the engine build. Stroker kits? intake? headers? etc... or would a crate engine be a better option? What is the best places to find good economical parts?
Any advise and guidance would be great.

·
Super Moderator
7,739 Posts
How soon do you want it on the road? How much time do you want to spend with your sons building it? Crates are great if you want to drop and run, even better as they'll likely save you a couple of bucks. BUT... doing the rebuild and what you learn how it interacts as well as the time you spend with your sons. As far as the build itself, what do you want to use the car for? Cruising with an occasional lead foot? Action on the strip? f you want versatility an horsepower, I'd recommend going with an EFI conversion, headers with a 2 1/2" exhaust system. Parts? There's a ton of them with varying prices.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3