Ford Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
a little bit sideways
1,258 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
up front, let me state that i have no contacts with anyone in ford. heck, i work in a bank, so nobody talks to me...

anyway, with rumour of 300 or more kw for Gt is anyone else worried? IMHO, too much power is still not enough, but what conecrns me is that there will be some dickhead journo or worse, a pollie, who try to kick up a storm by jumping on the 'speed kills' bandwagon and kills the car, and all of holdens hot cars too, as well as all the other performance falcons. it happened in the 70's, why not again?

lets face it, 300 kw sounds exactly like 300 hp. 300 is 300, but if someone realises that the two figures are not the same, and that 300kw is about 400 hp, all we need is some lowlife to realise there are votes to be had.

personally, from what i have read, i am dying to get a look at the GT. after seeing the GT show on foxtel the other night, and my initials are GT (thanks mum:s6: ) i think i am destined to own one. heres hoping it isnt killed off before i save my pennies.

·
Dual Exhaust Warrior™
1,172 Posts
Nah mate the GT will stay.. unlike the 70's we now have ABS, Airbags, BIG brakes, side intrusion bars etc etc..... In those days we had horsepower and skinny tyres LOL :s5

·
a little bit sideways
1,258 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nah mate the GT will stay.. unlike the 70's we now have ABS, Airbags, BIG brakes, side intrusion bars etc etc..... In those days we had horsepower and skinny tyres LOL
you forgot drum brakes!:s6:

trouble is when was the last time you heard any sense in the road safety debate. high powered cars are an easy target for some has-been politician trying to reignite a career. when was the last time you heard a pollie admit that car design and safety features have contributed to the reduced road toll? they all seem to think that the introduction of speed cameras have magically saved millions of lives.