Ford Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
New to the Ford Game
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
G'day,
As the profile says I'm new to the Ford game. Dare I say it, I'm mostly a holden fan but am converting now I've purchased the XR. Because most of my knowledge is on Holdens, I've got a bunch of questons about XRs. My brother in Aussie (huge Ford nut), has a massive amount of knowledge, but doesn't know it all, so he put me onto this site. Any help from members will be greatly appreciated.

Some pressing questions to start with:

XR Heater

According to some sites it seems these were an option back in
the day. How hard is it to find an original Heater system including
dash selector panel? Is there anyone out there who has fitted a non-original heating/demister system? It's fairly important over here to have a window demister, and I can only describe a previous owners earlier attempt as 'agricultural'.

Brakes

I've seen a number of ads in mags talking about disc brake upgrades for early Falcons. All these companies, such as DBA, seem to only talk about upgrades for XWs and XYs. Is it possible to get a kit for say an XW, and fit them to an XR? Also, can you/any advantage to fitting a booster/master cylinder from a later model Falcon, say XA - XC?

Window mechanisms

On the splined shaft that the window winding handle fits into, there is a keyed end which fits into the mechanism.The keyed end has rounded itself, making this shaft come out with the winder when you pull it off.Have tried all sorts as a temporary fix,but the whole mechanism looks like it needs replacing.XR parts are hard to find over here, are the mechanisms the same or similar in any of the later model falcons?

Undersealing