Ford Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
AUPS Member
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking at getting an Series 1 AU XR8 now, not a 300zx anymore. Just wondering if there where any problems with this model? I would like a series 2/3 but there just out of my price range. :(

·
FPV & XR Club Owners ACT
463 Posts
Im not an expert, but I got the 6..

Couple of things from my experiences, the cones in the LSD swelled and cause a grinding sound, easy fix about $70, not sure of any one else having this prob though.

the brakes, they are the same as the standard Falcon, so a lil bit under braked. new rotors and good pads sorted that out though.

Other then those two Im happy with my car, just would like it to be the 8, but it still got some balls to it. Good luck finding one...

·
YES its a 5 Speed!!
2,242 Posts
MOTOR did a past blast review a while back on this model... they praised it up heaps... will c if i can find it!

·
100MPH Hunter
1,045 Posts
What type of price range???

·
RIP Sox.....
2,580 Posts
Drive a AU XR6 too, they almost hold there own against the V8, and with a bit of tickling will easily hose the V8. They are also lighter, handle better, and get better fuel economy.

It's only the AU2 XR8's which had reasonable balls, although the very last of the series 1's were fitted with the 200kw engine.

Rick.

·
In a blue Galaxy
5,716 Posts
Soxx, don't tell me my stock AU1 XR8 doesn't have balls. I did a flat 15 at heathcote in 32 degree heat. The quickest series 1 XR6 was kooky's with a 15.7.

There is also so much tickling you can do to the Windsors aswell! There isnt really that much you can do to the sixes without supercharging. Also the only XR6's that will handle better will be the VCT, and they are slower than the HP anyway.

·
RIP Sox.....
2,580 Posts
Cobra -
If you like how your XR8 goes, that fine by me, but I still maintain they have only adequate performance for a 5L V8 (prior to AU2).