Ford Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The car is a 2001 fordmustang cobra svt with a 4.6L and a manual transmission. First off, I am a mechanic. Also I have an autel scan tool. So my problem is when cold this car starts and immediately dies. If I keep my foot on the gas it runs fine. Once its warm it idles fine. With my autel dont give me anything to go on, tps, air flow, map coolant sensor, everything looks good. About the only thing the autel gives me is long term fuel trim is at -5 meaning its running rich. Hooked up a fuel pressure gauge as see thefuel pressure fluctuates between 28 and 32 psi. If I unplug the fuel pressure regulator the fuel pressure should increase but the pressure drops to 20 psi. Other random observations may or may not be relevant it appears that the head gasket on the left side as well as 1 of the freeze plugs appears to be seeping and the oil pressure sender is leaking, but oil level is fine. Car has 90k miles. Any thoughts on where to go from here would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
3,601 Posts
Check for vacuum leaks at inlet manifold gasket and on cracks in PCV metal pipes and parts that may close up when warm.

The plastic intake manifold can also crack in various places and close up like metal when warm. While they more commonly cause coolant leaks they can also cause vacuum leaks especially if an aftermarket replacement manifold has been fitted and not correctly torqued up. The manifold nuts on aftermarket replacement manifolds can also come loose creating vacuum leaks at the gasket.

see http://www.agcoauto.com/content/news/p2_articleid/185

Note: I don't think I have ever actually worked on one of these engines as they are uncommon grey imports in Australia but these symptoms in a generic sense do suggest a vacuum leak that closes up when the engine is warm.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3