Ford Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Abuser of Charvels
909 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested in painting some of my engine bay and my brakes. What is the best method to use? Can I do it in a day with spray cans? I would probably get the engine paint colour matched to my car and maybe a can of VHT for the calipers, in a nice red? The normal paint should hold up ok shouldn't it? Will I need to clear coat it?

I've never done this before so any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Calipers
1. Remove the wheel.
2. Get a spray degreaser and a wire brush and clean it good!
3. get a throw-away plastic cup, push the spray knob of the VHT caliper paint ( make sure you get caliper paint! ) through a piece of paper and spray paint into the cup ( the paper prevents it "blowing back" at you )
4. With a paintbrush, carefully paint the caliper ( you can mask up but if you have a steady hand its not necessary ). Put on a thin layer, and I mean *thin*
5. Put the little tube attachment on the degreaser and "spray" off any errant paint
6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until you have a really good colour depth, remembering to allow enough time between coats for it to dry.
7. *I* would recommend 2 or 3 coats of high temp clear after this but you dont have to. It is a good protective layer and adds a depth of gloss.
8. Put wheel back on and go to next caliper...

*Be prepared to spend at least 1-2 hours per wheel, but you get better ( and quicker )at it as you go along*

·
Experimental Racer#6
8,192 Posts
You dont need caliper paint.
I just cleaned my calipers, Primed them, and painted them with VHT heat proof paint.
they have since been re painted with normal Car paint.
It has been there for 4 years.
As for the enging bay , just make sure tha parts are cleaned and degreased, i degrees then use CRC Brakleen as it is a white spirit that dries with no residue.then sand/prime etc and paint.
Vic just make sure you show us the pics when you are finished.

·