Ford Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,everyone i am a newbie to the this site which truly makes for a good read. Today i have a problem which before embarking on a spending spree would like advice on. I have a 1998 Ford Ranchero xr6 ute xh model (manual)or as known in other countries as a ford falcon xr6 ute. Yesterday the ute started with a light consistant misfire when going through the gears. I am trying to rule out blown or faulty head gasket,has close to 400 000 km on the clock.HT leads i tested individually at idle,good spark.plug 2&4 has a light film of oil around the thread. Any advice please. Thanks

·
Super Moderator
19,459 Posts
A compression test and a block test should help in eliminating head / gasket fault . Some usual signs without testing can be pressurised cooling system / hoses , emulsfied oil , more water than usual from exhaust tailpipe , coolant level drop with no apparent leaks .

·
Super Moderator
3,606 Posts