Ford Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Ex Member
717 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been driving around an EF for 2 years, before i stuffed it up and traded it in, i now bought a NFII fairlane ghia v8, mainly because i've too much of a lead foot and wanted a slower car.

my problem is, that it just feels like its got the agillity of the titanic around corners in comparison to my lowered EF, I would like to lower my fairlane, and put some 17" alloys, (if they fit) on it, but i was told, because i have a load leveling kit installed, its not advisable to lower my car, is this a crock or what ?

its got 80,000ks on the clock, would the shocks be at replacement stage?

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
I am not a fan of the SLS and with 80km the shocks are getting close to needing a replacement. I would do away with the SLS and just get it lowered with good quality springs and shocks. 17 inch wheels will fit under the Fairlane (they fitted on the EL GT). The Fairlane is aimed at the 50+ age group who generally like cars that handle like boats. :s6: I know my dad does:crazy1:

You say you had an EF then wanted a slower car so you got an EF Fairlane with a V8? What was your old EF? some kind of modified rocket was it? How did you screw it?

·
Ex Member
717 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm affraid as the EF was only my second car, i didnt treat it very well indeed, it was basicly constantly thrashed, redlined, and i even had it rearended to. the auto was getting very sloppy in changing gears and started shuddering at take off. the diff also had chipped a tooth, the engine tho, after 2 years of abuse, still ran perfectly, everytime without fail, and i never even had to change the head gasket, like so many EF owners do.

it was gunmetal greay, lowered with 16" wheels and low profile tyres, and it had a 2.5" exhuast, cat back with a SS tip on the end. So many memories in the back seat of that car....