Ford Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.

I am the (almost proud) owner of a '04 24V Probe (KLDE engine). I have been restoring it fully for nearly 2 years.

The engine runs almost fine, and it has the max power it should, runs beautifully above 3000 rpm or so, but it is still a bit uncomfortable to drive in the city, because it shakes quite a bit when gently pushing/releasing throttle.

It also stumbles or hesitates a bit when hard accelerating at low revs, more during the first, colder, minutes, but this is not as annoying.

I have replaced EVERYTHING: spark plugs, wires, distributor, cap, rotor, fuel injectors, all the required VRIS, EGR valves, etc. so NO CODES are thrown by now, and in fact it passes MOT with very low CO emissions. I also measured fuel pressure, replaced exhaust pipes, cat and lambdas.... nearly half of the car is new at this point.

I have also checked the TPS and MAF sensors with an oscilloscope looking for signs of glitches, but they don't show anything strange.

I also checked timing belt and everything is perfectlyl in sync. I re-adjusted my timing a bit earlier (13ºBTDC) than nominal 10 because that seems to improve stumble at low revs/high loads.

Another symptom is that, after, say 30 min, the car starts bad, it turns but takes a while to start (like 2-3 seconds). If, after stopping it, I restart sooner (within minutes), no problem. Also, if I let it sit overnight, it starts perfect next time.

Do you think that messing around with the throttle cable tension or the idle screw can affect this? How would you continue?

Thanks for your support!

·
Super Moderator
21,905 Posts
Coolant temp sensor ? If the coolant temperature sensor goes bad it can send a false signal to the computer and throw off the fuel and timing calculations.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A lot of thanks for your swift answer,.