Ford Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

7,750 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ford Tickford Racing Latest News

24 Jun, 2001

Ford Tickford Racing’s Steve Richards has finished ninth overall at what has been a tough weekend for FTR at the sixth round of the Shell V8 Championship at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia.
Teammate Glenn Seton ended 17th overall after suffering panel damage in the round’s second race, and engine dramas in the third and final race.

Fellow Falcon driver Paul Radisich made it three straight wins for Ford, as he took all three races over the weekend.

After a disappointing qualifying which saw him start from 19th position, Richards improved throughout the weekend to finish in the top-10.

“Quite a frustrating weekend, qualifying was disappointing and we had to play catch-up from there,” said Richards.

“My car speed was really good, but when you start down the field it’s always going to be hard work.

“I was happy with the fact that we improved over the weekend and I actually passed others on the track.

“We now head back to Calder in Melbourne – a place I won at last year.

Seton’s weekend started well qualifying second, and despite taking fourth in the first race, it was frustration from then on.

“A minor collision with Craig Lowndes knocked the front bumper off my car at the start of the second race – I was forced to pit and finish two laps down,” said Seton.

“I then got a great start from the back in the final race, but then the engine went off and I was forced to retire from the final race.

“Our performance in qualifying gives the team plenty of confidence going to Calder.

“I see that Ford has won three rounds on the trot with three different drivers – I’d like to be the one who gets win number four back in Melbourne.

Calder will be on 14 – 15,2001.

Overall results for round six of the Shell Championship – Barbagallo Raceway (WA)

1. Paul Radisich - Shell Helix Racing - Ford Falcon AUXR8

2. Mark Skaife

3. Greg Murphy

4. Russell Ingall

5. Craig Lowndes - Gibson Motorsport - Ford Falcon AUXR8

6. Steve Johnson - Shell Helix Racing - Ford Falcon AUXR8

7. Todd Kelly

8. Jason Bright

9. Steve Richards - Ford Tickford Racing - Ford Falcon AUXR8

10. Cameron McConville

Championship Standings

1. Skaife - 1,612

2. Bright - 1,503

3. Ingall - 1,268

4. Johnson - 1,258

5. Murphy - 1,121

6. Marcos Ambrose - Pirtek Racing - Ford Falcon AUXR8 - 1,068

7. Richards - 1,063

8. Kelly - 1,032

9. Lowndes - 1,023

10. Glenn Seton Ford Tickford Racing - Ford Falcon AUXR8 - 994
1 - 1 of 1 Posts