Ford Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all
I am new to the tickford engine and am after some info for building a 4L Straight 6, Tickford engine.
I'm a mechanic and am building up a engine.
Questions I am asking are:

What engine would be best to run for performanc?

When rebuilding the engine.
Going to repalce rings,bearings,headgasket etc, is there any little tricks/secrets in building one to get a little more performance?

The engine is gonna run standard intake and exhaust manifolds.
Injectors are coming out and a carby going on,Doing this cose its for speedway and can only run carbys under the rules. Also cant run VCT either.
Looking to do a mild clean up of the head ports and manifold.
Run a aftermarket cam. Standard valves,springs etc.
Will run a aftermarket ECU for the ignition side of things

Thanks for your help and any suggestions welcome

·
248 Posts
mild port or clean up will help.why not use a distribitor out of xe carby motor no computor needed it should fit.
Make sure the timing chain is new and valve timing is spot on.

Depending on rules try and raise the compression abit by decking the block and machining the head aswell.

Ian

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
mild port or clean up will help.why not use a distribitor out of xe carby motor no computor needed it should fit.
Make sure the timing chain is new and valve timing is spot on.

Depending on rules try and raise the compression abit by decking the block and machining the head aswell.

Ian
Thanks for the info.
Yes compression can be raised,rules say compression can be no more than 10.1, The stanadard one of these engine is 9.6 I think? What would be a safe compression ratio on one of these?

Was thinking of putting a distributor out of an xe but would it loose any performance from using ecu setup etc?

·
248 Posts