Ford Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys hows it goin.
Im a proud owner of a 2004 Mondeo TDCi,2nd hand on about 139k km.
Had it for a month or so and its quite the car.
Im having some issues regarding the start of the car and actually taking off in 1st gear.Now,I've been a driver for 7 years now,but this Mondeo is my first diesel car.So hints and tips are welcomed.
So heres my problem...I start up the car,up goes the rpm to 900 or a little over,clutch goes half way up,up to the biting point,in comes some throttle,we lift off as we should...aaand stall or idle...so we do this again with either more throttle and less clutch and vice versa...so either same thing happens,i choke the car,or we climb the rpm ladder with little to slow movement forward.Now this problem is occuring for the last week or so and ive chocked out a couple of times.Other times when im more "sassy" in a way with the feet movement car takes off smoothly as it should.
Now im not having any rpm sudden drops as Ive seen other had around the forums etc but ive read that engine parts need to be cleaned,sensors need to be checked etc and ive come to put my driving skills into question too.
Apart from the take off,car runs smoothly and like a tank so we are peaches there,but ive either scared my self into doubt and being too careful that i cause my own problems or theres something other to it.
Im planning on buying 1 of those diesel engine small particle remover fluids that you put in when youre fueling up just in case,sorta maintnence thing on my half.Aand to be honest the engine is pretty dirty,because previous owner had no trouble with the car that the hood hasnt been poped open over a year.
Now my questions
Do I need to clean something,double check something and if so where and how/im no grease monkey,im a doctor so help me out ok? :p /
Is it petrol based problem and do i need to change my gas station
Should i go back to driving school

Thanks

·