Ford Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
"Custom" 94 Tempo
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my tempo has pretty warped front rotors.

I wasn't sure so I figured I'd ask. What would be a fix for warped rotors? Would I be able to machine them down or would I require a brand new set? If I have to get a new set then does anyone have any recommendations as to what kind I should get, and what a price would be? I'm looking for better quality rotors - ones that are more resistant to heat and warpage, but if the better ones are to expensive then I'm going to have to go with a factory set from a junkyard or something.

Thanks...Al

F

·
0 Posts
Al

Raybestos put a book out for all the auto techs to use that tells them the maximum run out or allowable warpage that a rotor can have before it needs to be replaced. Now I used to be a mechanic for 8 yrs and just happen to have an old one laying around the house i think....somewhere...Brakes were a specialty of mine. If the rotors have a slight warp and i mean less than .003 to .005 of an inch warpage and they are still more than .030 over what minimul thickness is required for cutting...then you can cut them down but, most manufacturers in about the last 3-5 yrs have started to put on what is called one cut rotors....you use the rotors and you usually...not always but most times....get to cut them once and the next trip for brakes requires rotors.Your best bet is to get you a new set of rotors...Rotors for our cars are not much I live in NJ and I think when I got mine they were somewhere from $19-28 each...or something like that. I recommend raybestos only because i never had any comebacks from them and never had a problem with them on my cars...
Get a new set of brake pads and make sure to grease the slides....alot of people forget and that is what the calipers slide on and causes them to stick, and hang up.
when you do the front brakes make sure to check the rear and check the wheel cyclinders as well.....